Blueberry-Orange Biscuits

I made these to send to DH today.  Overall, they’re slightly sweet and turned out a bit like scones.  DH doesn’t like overly sweet things like frosting, so I thought these might be a nice treat.  When Super Rad was overseas, he said everyone wanted to sent him candy and cookies, which got old really fast.  Another reason why I wanted to mix it up a bit with these biscuits.

2 cups flour

1 tbl sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp finely shredded orange peel

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup dried blueberries

1 6 ounce carton of orange or vanilla yogurt

1 tbl milk

Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, orange peel, salt, and baking soda.  Cut in shortening until it looks crumbly.  Mix in dried fruit.  Add yogurt and milk into a well in the flour mixture.  Stir until just moistened.  Knead dough on a slightly floured surface until smooth.  Lightly roll out dough until about 1/2 inch thick.  Cut out biscuits with cookie cutter or floured glass.  Bake 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheet for about 10 minutes on 450.

This recipe makes about a dozen biscuits but it depends on how thin the dough is.  I saved two out for myself and sent the rest to DH.  I hope he likes them.

I seem to have the itch to bake whenever I’m wearing a black shirt.  I have a lovely white flour belly now.  Time to start shopping for an apron.

Leave a comment