Wash Day

I know I’ve been pretty quiet, but I’ve been really sick since Red left.  I caught bronchitis and an ear infection from somewhere–I’m blaming DH since he had it right before he left.  Oh man, it is no fun at all.  I have been so incredibly tired, and the household chores have just not gotten done.  This house is filthy, and  I must be getting better because it’s starting to disgust me now.  (It was helpful to gain some perspective though.)

In my brief spurt of energy this afternoon, I tried to tackle the laundry that’s been stacking up for awhile.  I was motivated a few days ago, but only got far enough to make about six piles of dirty clothes in front of the basement door before I had to take a nap.  I’ve been stepping over them ever since.  I threw a load in today, and it contained the last piece of DH’s dirty clothes.  How incredibly sad.  I wanted to sit and cry afterward.  I can’t explain it very well, but seeing his stuff laying on the floor was so comforting.  I don’t want to have to go into his closet (yes, we’re lucky enough to get separate closets even if they are tiny!) and hang it up.  It’s easier to ignore it’s even over there than see all his shirts hanging up neatly.  When he gets home, I’m going to be so happy to be able to wrap myself in one of his old t-shirts that smells of his aftershave that I’m going to boycott washing away that smell ever again.

Leave a Reply

