Aren’t I Too Old For This?

I was a military brat growing up, so this is nothing new for me.  It really doesn’t even matter if were or not though.  The big thing with the military and kids is the “trauma” of leaving/making friends.  It’s what everyone asks about.  It’s the huge question that I think every mil brat has gotten asked a hundred times.

But who is worrying about the adults?   I have met some amazing women here who I plan on keeping as life long friends.  They are fantastic, interesting, intelligent, funny people.  They have helped me in ways that they will never fully understand.

And they are moving.

Summer is moving season for most people, and I knew this day would come, but it suuuuucks.  It’s a small Army, they say.  We can write and visit, they say.  Technology makes the world so accessible, they say.  They can shove it because it does not get easier and you don’t outgrow the suckiness that is saying goodbye to friends.  I met one of my best friends two weeks ago, and she’s moving next month.  We’re already planning trips to visit each other later this year because our time together has just been way too short.

This season is playing emotional havoc with me right now.  I don’t know what I’m going to do here by myself without my battle buddies.  Wouldn’t it be easier to sort of age out of the making friends shit cycle?  Or maybe it’d be easier to stay young and be forced to make friends at school forever?  Military issued friends anyone???  I’m open for ideas.

Leave a Reply

