All For The Benjamins

As I’m sure everyone’s aware, it’s tax season.  I always look forward to this season a little bit because I love getting a big check  in the mail.  I know it’s money I’ve already earned, but how often do you open the mail and see that much money at once?  I know it won’t last forever.  Hopefully someday I’ll be making so much money that my tax bill will be crazy high and I won’t even miss it all, but right now I’m enjoying the silver lining of being broke to the fullest.

But at the same time, I hate tax season.  I hate collecting all the scraps of paper that I need.  I hate keeping all the different bank forms in order.  I do my own taxes with TurboTax too, so that doesn’t help matters.  Don’t get me wrong, TurboTax is very easy software to use (although last year’s updates stunk :().  Even if you aren’t a math genius, you can do your taxes this way, and it’s way, way cheaper than taking it to someone.  I just get this horrible worry that I screwed up somehow, and the IRS will come pounding on my door for not paying the right amount, and I won’t have enough in my savings to cover it.  Yeah, I know.  Exaggerate much?  I just can’t help it.  There’s so much pressure!

On top of it all, I had the bright idea to set up DH’s retirement accounts right now since he had so much non-taxable income while he was deployed.  I’ve got IRAs, 401Ks, maximum contributions, income caps…you name it…floating around my head.  Because that’s what I need while I’m trying to itemize all my charitable contributions (I’m looking at you Walk for Diabetes!).

I totally brought this on myself, but thank goodness this is only once a year.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laura
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 23:17:27

    Haha. Hey now! Do you need anything from me for that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

