A Plan For the Home Stretch

Today I started a new project.  I’m calling it the “Sick of Being Sick and Going to do Something About it–Oh, and Maybe Look Good For the Hubs” plan.

My health issues are primarily digestive system related.  It seems minor or at least non-vital but when you can’t digest food right you start messing with nutrition and growth and weight.  That all leads to way bigger issues with the other organs not to mention being active, sleeping, allergies…the list goes on.  If your body can’t get all it vitamins and minerals through eating, you’ve got a big problem.  I have a big problem.  I can regulate it the majority of time by staying away from my trigger foods, but sometimes it goes crazy all on its own  and there’s nothing I can do but wait it out.

I’ve been waiting for over a month.  A month of a non-working digestive system is not a good thing.  I’m tired to waiting, so I’m taking more aggressive measures.

I’m going to try and run 100 miles (161 km for you Wiley :)) before DH comes home.  Being active can help digestion along when the body can’t do it on its own.  It’s just difficult because without good food there’s not much fuel for the body to run on.  It’s a catch-22 in the worst way, but I hope that pushing through the first week or so will jump start my body enough that it will get easier.

To complement my excercise plan, I’m going to go veggie lover for awhile.  I don’t know if I want to do it completely until DH comes home, but I need to do it for a few weeks at least.  I’m like a 75% vegetarian anyway because a lot of the time it’s the only thing my body can work with.  I need to get back to the basics and love my fruits and veggies, let my system reset itself, and hopefully get back on a good path.  I got some good cookbooks from work today, so I’m headed to the store tomorrow after work (fun Friday night plans, I know) to stock up and get started.

I’m shooting for working hard until DH comes home and then re-evaluating.  It really has nothing to do with DH and everything to do with my health, but the homecoming is kind of an impending deadline that I can work toward.  And if I can get in better shape, it’s just icing on the cake.

3 miles down.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wiley
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 08:45:56

    Sounds like a great plan! And thanks for translating it for me – I don’t think I will ever come to grips with the imperial system. Seriously, how you guys can be a world power and stick to that antiquated system is beyond me.

    How long do you have until the redeployment? Weeks? Months? So exciting 🙂

    Reply

  2. solwindchime
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 21:47:09

    It’s still months, but so few months that it is acceptable to count in weeks instead. Even knowing the number, it’s hard to believe it’s ending.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Odds And Ends « Solitary Wind Chime

Leave a Reply

