Work Rant

I like my job.  I really do.  I like the unpredictableness of my days.  I like the order of a library.  I tell my husband I can get all my crazy, anal, organizational self tired at work, so when I come home at night I can just me be and enjoy life.  The house can be a mess and so many chores left undone, and it’s ok.  I feel that I’ve put enough in order for  one day that all the less important things at home and wait.  It’s lovely.  I like seeing the regular families come in to visit.  I like seeing their faces when I remember their favorites or to save a book aside for them.  I like seeing displays that I created get picked over because people are interested in the books I’ve set out.  I truly like my job.

As with any job though, there are not fun things about it too.  I barely tolerate the unpredictable hours, the random evenings, the increasingly frequent weekends.  Library life is repetitious.  It’s the same few questions over and over.  It’s not extremely challenging mentally.  Click.  Scan. Repeat.

But I really, really hate my job sometimes.  I hear more about what my co-workers refuse to do in an average day than I see them actually take initiative.  When did this become acceptable work behavior?  I wouldn’t dare say the word refuse to any boss ever.  People refuse to work with each other.  They refuse to do certain tasks.  They refuse to work on specific days.  One guy sleeps.  Another takes regular 2 hour lunches.  Some won’t shelve books.  Others won’t create new patron records.  Some days I just want to scream “either do something or leave because I’m tired of hearing it!”  Get off Facebook.  Get off the phone.  Earn your paycheck.  My immediate supervisor is no better though.  She flat out won’t do certain tasks because they confuse her.  She has pawned off several strictly librarian responsibilities to me because I’m better at them.  I wish my paycheck reflected that then because I don’t make even close to her salary, but it is giving me incredibly valuable experience to put on a resume that I couldn’t get any other way.

I’m so frustrated at feeling like I’m one of two, maybe three people who are trying to keep up professional standards at my workplace.  I can’t do it all, and they’re tearing the place down around me faster than I can pick up after them.  It’s not fair, and I hate saying that, but it isn’t.  We’re supposed to rotate evenings and weekends, but since more and more people are refusing to be flexible, the burden is increasingly falling to a few.  I don’t want to be working so many weekends when DH is home.  I don’t mind doing my share, but I don’t want to be walked all over and abused.  I don’t want to work anywhere where I’m stressed and grumpy all the time.  Life is too short, and I try too hard to create a quality of life during my personal time to throw it away for 40 hours every week.

I hate complaining.  The vast majority of the time, I do love my job.  I have only been here a few months, and I don’t want to be burning out so soon.  I just don’t understand people.  What happened to a work ethic?  And what’s the solution?  Try and be superwoman and carry the burden of library standards all on my shoulders or throw them all out the window and watch my personal respect go with it?  Or can I be granted permission to just smack some sense into people instead?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Wiley
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 07:05:44

    Oh man, I hear you. I do wonder where work ethic and civility and (un)common sense went. Sometimes I think of all the stupid pills people I work with must be popping and I truly do worry for the future of humanity.
    It sucks that your boss is no better though – that really makes things more difficult to solve. But you shouldn’t feel that you have to pick up the slack of others – you are allowed to turn down shifts in the evening and on the weekends. Take a stand!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

