Still Standing And Only A Little Sticky

I know I’ve been hibernating this last week since my disappointing reaction to a scrapped weekend.  It’s taken me awhile to get out of my funk, and I’ve been just plain busy.  I want to elaborate on that more, but I’m trying to stick to one post at a time.

I didn’t get my car back until a week after it quit working.  When the mechanic finally looked at it, it started right up.  Never could figure out what was wrong with it.  Murph, it’s just not funny anymore.  At least I only had to pay the tow fee, but I feel like I’m riding around with a timer that could click off at any moment.  I’ve just been lucky that it’s happened when I’m at home both times now.  Can I twist this into an excuse not to run errands on the other side of town until DH comes home?

Two of the gals from work are bent on losing weight, so I’ve joined them for classes at the gym almost every night last week.  I did yoga, Zumba, and step aerobics.  It’s been so fun, and I’m feeling good about getting back in the gym.  It’s made for some very long evenings though.  Zumba is a riot!  I love it.  The latin music reminds me of my DH, but it’s real women shaking it in a room full of mirrors.  That’s a pretty big accomplishment.  I am horrible at it, but it’s just so darn much fun I want to keep going.  I messed up my calf at aerobics though.  Those women are high-energy freaks of nature.  It looked like I jumped in the pool when I walked out of that class, and I think I only caught half of what the regulars did.

As good as the gym is making me feel, I’ve been really, really sick.  Everything I’ve tried to eat has not gone down well.  Everything about this episode is a screaming sign to hurry up and have my surgery.  More on that for a later post, but for now, it’s kept me tired and grumpy and in a whole lot of pain.  Poo.

I did squeeze in some canning after work!

Doesn’t my strawberry jam look purdy?  The jar packaging called those new “fashion lids” because they came in silver.  Uhh…alrighty then.  I’ve already cracked one open, and it’s currently over buttered toast right next to my keyboard.  hehe… I know that was mean, but it’s just so yummy. 🙂  These guys are next on my list.

 It’s going to be wonderful.  I want to do pears later in the early fall.  My grammy’s canned pears were always my favorite growing up.  Fresh fruit and all the goodies that come from baking fresh fruit are probably the only thing that make the summer heat worth it.

I have several posts in the works that I want to catch up with.  I’ve been reading some good books that I want to share.  I’ve had some interesting days at work, and a lot of thoughts have been floating around about this deployment, surgery, and depression bubble.  I’ll work on getting some thoughts in order, but I wanted to say hi and that I’m thinking of everybody.  Until I find a few minutes again…

Leave a Reply

