Busy Doesn’t Begin to Describe Me

I’ve been plenty busy lately and wanted to do a hodge podge post of all that I’ve been up to.  It’s been a whirwind the last couple weeks.  I’ve got so many projects in the works that I want to hopefully finish up soon in anticipation of new projects later this summer.  The pace is making the time go by so fast.  I love it.

I haven’t abandoned my cooking self challenge, I’ve just been sick of posting about it.  It felt like that’s the only time I got around to blogging, and this is not a food blog.  I’ve made turkey pot pie from scratch, pulled pork sandwhiches, and country rib and mushroom stew.  The stew was from an Italian soups cookbook, and I know it didn’t do it justice but it was fabulous.  Maybe I’ll bake for next week…

The other problem was I was eating badly.  This cooking self challenge turned into watch me gain the deployment 15 challenge.  Not fun.  Plus all I hear from DH is how he’s been hitting the gym for hours everyday and is getting in great shape.  At the store I got tons of yummy salad fixin’s for this week instead, but I also made enchilladas.  I girl still needs her protien!  But I’m back to hitting the gym a little bit more frequently for a killer workout and am watching my portions a bit better.  It was the snacking that was killing me.  Hopefully in a few weeks I can report that the svelt me is back and I can post about  something yummy again.

Life just keeps plugging away.  It’s a busy month at work, so my infrequent off time has been spent with appointments and errands.  I indulged with a little retail therapy this past Saturday and realized I should never go shoe shopping unsupervised.  My shoe population is going to easily double before DH gets home.  But they were just soooo cute!  And then I needed a snappy dress to match…

Several of my blogging friends have opened my eyes to Etsy.  It’s fantastic.  It’s like a craft/thrift/flea market all the time!  In your house!  In your jammies if you want!!  I’m embarking on decorating my bedroom in a minimalist Asian style since it is the last room in the house that still looks unlived in if you ignore the dirty clothes on the floor.  My furniture is three different colors as it is all a conglomeration of stuff from me and my parents over the years.  Before DH gets home I want to paint the furniture and get curtains up.  The curtains are happening sooner rather than later.  I have a wall of west facing windows, and the Southern sun is baking my room.  I found vintage kimono fabric on Etsy.  It’s absolutely gorgeous and was totally worth the wait.  I’m so excited.  I picked out purple curtains and I’m going to add my kimono silk to them.  I bit of deconstruction is necessary, however.  I wanted to make my own curtains, but I just have too many windows that are super huge.  It would cost me a fortune to buy that much fabric.  The store didn’t have enough panels in stock, so I was going to order them online.  I was tired to making the trip across town and my bank account cannot stand another shopping detour.  Unfortunately they aren’t sold online at all.  Bummer.  It’s like the universe is telling me to go shoe shopping again.  I have found that I have no self control when it comes to this.

Red is still struggling.  I feel so badly for her.  I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about my own recovery.  Parts of me are so grateful to be feeling better, however temporarily, and can’t wrap my head around it anymore.  But she is thinking about coming and visiting this summer, and I’m so excited!  I need to start brainstorming ways we can get ourselves into trouble.  I’m thinking a trip the beach might be in order.

I meant to expand one most of these ideas, but I just got too far behind.  I’m hoping once I get some of these projects finished I can post some pictures.  Anyhoo…back to business I suppose.

Leave a Reply

