Who Me?

To channel Sally Fields:  “You like me!  You really like me!”

Wiley, prolly the coolest Aussie I know, over at Wiley Goes Walkabout  was totally sweet and bestowed upon me the Honest Scrap award.It’s my first award, I’m so so so grateful to her for thinking of me.

This award does come with some stipulations, however, and I have not gotten around to fulfilling them because of the crises that always seem to develop during a deployment, which I’ll get to it some other time.  I feel so bad, and Wiley, I really am incredibly stoked over it.

So condition 1:  Brag about the award.

  • I try very hard to be uncensored in this space, both for myself and for whomever stumbles upon it.  I cannot bring myself to brag that my thoughts are overly exciting, but they are honest and I’m proud of that.  It does tickle me that at least one person out there likes me enough to pass this on.  I feel like I’m inching closer to being a legit mil spouse blogger.  And come on…isn’t that arm defined and gorgeous?  They must have modeled it after mine while I was sleeping.

Condition 2:  Mention the bestower of the award.  Wiley Wiley bo Biley, banana fanana fo Filey me mi mo Miley–Wiley!

Condition 3:  Choose other amazingly honest blogs that deserve this award.  Pass it on by leaving a comment at their site and let everyone else know where they can find them.

  • Wheelin’ Knuckles is a military brat who’s going through a really tough time right now but is finding the strength to be painfully honest.
  • Sis B’s honesty over at Veritably Bare makes my honesty look candy coated.  Totally inspired, Woman.  Just wow.

Condition 4:  Mention at least 10 honest things about myself.

  • I want to believe in the worst possible way that my depression and anxiety struggles were for a reason.  Even with my best friend in the whole world struggling with severe post partum depression, I cannot believe that my pain could serve a higher purpose and help her.  It still feels too unfair.
  • I am embarrassed around my family for no longer eating beef because it gives me digestive problem because my uncle made a living being a feedlot owner and farmer.
  • I am a sugar fanatic.  I try and eat incredibly healthy, but anything frosted makes me weak in the knees.
  • I toy with the idea of piercing my nipples but I don’t even have my ears pierced.
  • I was molested and sexually abused by my first boyfriend and his step father.
  • I sweat like crazy and have to wear extra strength deodorant.  My poor husband is a saint and loves me anyway.
  • I’m afraid I will not like the woman my brother ends up marrying.  He’s a wonderful, sweet man, and I don’t want to lose him to a tramp who doesn’t deserve him.  He hasn’t dated any woman who isn’t a tramp in my book yet.
  • I have no respect for people who cheat on their deployed spouses.  It is despicable and I wish I could think of a punishment equal for their behavior.
  • I secretly read trashy romance novels occasionally even though I think they should not even be considered true literature.
  • I hate the fact that my wedding anniversary ended up being the day after my mother and father-in-laws.  I didn’t know until the reception.  Now it’s like a joint event every year.  I want my day to be special to me and DH alone.  Is it too late for a do-over?

There you have it, folks.  I’m awesome, and now I’ve got bright, shiny red award to prove it.  Thank you again, Wiley.  The next post will return to our regularly scheduled programming.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wiley
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 06:53:17

    Hahaha.. am I the only Aussie you know??

    No worries about the delay – it was totally worth waiting for! Besides, there’s no time limit on these things right?

    I hope your days are evening out a bit & getting easier, too.

    Reply

    • solwindchime
      Apr 30, 2010 @ 16:55:36

      No… :/

      I say hello to a very polite Aussie on my nightly walk with my dog. Does that count? She has a big metal kangaroo in her yard, and I always think of you actually. Maybe once you and DM finally get under the same roof here in the States you’ll run into her on your military travels. They say the military is a small world. You never know.

      Reply

  2. Sis B
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 10:23:44

    Aw, thanks! When I get back on the regular blogging train I will formally accept the award and pass it on. 🙂

    Your truths are pretty weighty, I don’t think they look candy coated at all. Thank you again and have a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

