Call Me Crafty

So the star banner that I started in January finally got finished today!  I was being so careful and literally right as I was ready to put the needle to the fabric, my sewing machine broke.  Major bummer.  I had to send it away to a service center, and even though they told me it would take about a week to fix, I didn’t see it again for two months.  I came in the mail last week or the week before, and I figured I needed to finish the project before DH got home.  I think it turned out really nice.

I have it hanging on my front door right now.  I’m a little worried about the sun fading it, but at the same time, it’s meant to be seen.  We all get a little tattered and washed out from deployments, don’t we?

The project was pretty easy and didn’t take any time at all.  All the pieces were cut out from my false start a few months ago, so I easily zipped it out this weekend.  I actually made two, one’s going to my mother-in-law.

It’s weird how little things like this make me feel more “in the club” of geographically single military spouses.  While I’m out walking M every night, I see other stars hanging in windows, and my heart goes out to those families.  Even with my hubby gone too, I hurt for them.  Hanging my star feels like an honor, a privilege I’m granted by letting my love go for a year to war.  Does that make any sense?  Somehow it makes DH’s absence feel more real.  It makes it hurt more, yet it feels like something I have to do.

Two months in (yes, we’ve clicked over another month), and I’m still struck by how different deployments feel from everyday military life.  I thought I knew.  I had no idea…

Leave a Reply

