What Was I Thinking

Do not try and make mashed potatoes in one of these thinking it will save you time.  It turns perfectly good potatoes into a gummy froth.  Yes, potatoes can froth.

Also…do not try and wash them down the disposal because the gummy paste you created will harden and literally need to be chipped away.

Ask me how I know this.

Last night was very close to the Thanksgiving ’06 disaster when I added way too much sour cream to the mashed potatoes and I ended up with a marshmellow-like texture.

I need to try take out for awhile because my cooking skills have gone on the fritz this past week.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wiley
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 23:30:14

    Um… just how DO you know this?
    And is the magic bullet really as cool as it looks? It’s the only made-for-tv gadget I’ve ever wanted to own…

    Reply

    • solwindchime
      Mar 28, 2010 @ 23:37:56

      I learned the hard way. I think it’s deployment brain. The past week and a half I’ve made some of the dumbest decisions. Things I know better. Sigh…guess the brain goes flabby from lack of stimulation just like my abs.

      The magic bullet isn’t bad. I wouldn’t use it for chopping necessarily. Things get liquidy quite quickly, espcially when trying to get all the chunks down to the blade. It’s great for smoothies or milkshakes. It’s small size is much easier to clean than a full size blender.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

