Tomatilllo Pork and Mushrooms

Before DH left I bought a cookbook specifically for using the crock pot for smaller meals.  It’s called Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Recipes for TwoThe recipes are not the usual chili or roast with potatoes.  It offers a nice variety, and I really like that it says what size slow cooker to use and how much it makes (like serves two with leftovers).  Since I started work this week, I wanted to try a new recipe from the book.

I ended up eating these like tacos and foregoing the suggested rice, and it was really yummy.  It had a distinct Mexican flavor, but was different than the plain tacos or burritos that I normally make.

1 1/2 lbs boneless pork loin or shoulder, cut into 1-inch pieces

1/2 tsp salt

1 chopped onion

3/4 lb thickly sliced mushrooms

1 garlic clove

28 oz green enchilada sauce

7 oz salsa verde

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Season pork with salt and pepper and sear pork on all sides in a very hot pan with oil.  It takes about 3 minutes.  Put browned pork in crock pot and add onion, mushrooms, garlic, and both sauces.  Cook on high for 3 1/2 hours or low for 5-6 hours.  Stir in the cilantro right before serving.  Eat with tortillas.

It was very saucy, so if I did it again I might cut the enchilada sauce by half or drain some of it off before serving the pork.  I didn’t add any cheese in the tortilla when I ate it, although I thought about it really hard because it sounded like it would be delicious.  Also, the cilantro was very strong.  Since it’s a common ingredient in a lot of Mexican sauces, it might have been a combination of the the brand I chose and the fresh herb.  I might cut back on that too the next time I make it.

I wish I had a picture to post as well, but I didn’t get one before I ate the leftovers.  I love mushrooms, Mexican food, and pork, so this new recipe was a winner all the way around.

Thanks Beth Hensperger for the great meal!

Leave a Reply

