Stuffed Spinach Shells And One Happy Dog

This is coming a little late because Red was here and we were going all hog wild without our husbands for the past few days.  Maybe I’ll say more about that later.  Or maybe what happens on vacation, stays on vacation…

I’ve been dying to try this recipe for weeks and bought all the stuff to cook it for Red, but then we got so busy that I ended up making it for just myself after she’d left.  It was super yummy but not overly heavy as most Italian can get.  I’m sensitive to dairy as well, but I didn’t find the cheese quantity to bother me a whole lot.

12 jumbo macaroni shells

10 ounces of frozen spinach, thawed, or 1 bag of fresh spinach

2 eggs

2 cups of shredded Italian cheese blend

1 cup ricotta cheese

1 jar of pasta sauce

1/2 package of turkey sausage

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain, rinse in cold water, and drain again.  Drain excess water out of frozen spinach or slightly wilt fresh spinach in a skillet.  I added a tad bit of garlic to my spinach during this step.  Beat the eggs in a bowl and add the spinach, 1 1/2 cups of the Italian cheese, and the ricotta cheese.  Fill the pasta shells with the mixture and place in a casserole dish.  Pour sauce and chopped turkey sausage over top.  Bake covered for 40 minutes on 350.  Sprinkle 1/2 cup of Italian cheese on top before serving.

It was not very difficult to make even though there were several steps.  I split the recipe in half and put 6 shells in a foil pan to freeze for later, which gave me two servings of 3 shells left for supper.  Here’s my end result:

It was super yummy!  Even my battle buddy, M, thought so.

Another tip is to use Oscar Meyer turkey sausage.  It’s my favorite.  It has great flavor, and those picky people who think there’s something fundamentally wrong with turkey over pork or beef can’t even taste the difference.  It comes in two segments, so it’s easy to use one and save the other for something else like chili dogs.  I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

