Yummy Cookies

This is my first week doing the recipe self-challenge that I proposed a few weeks ago.  Every week I want to try a new recipe to keep me interested in cooking for one while DH is gone.  I feel that one a week is doable and won’t cost me an arm and a leg at the commissary getting the needed supplies.  This week I made chocolate cherry oatmeal cookies for a neighborhood block meeting.

They turned out fine.  Cookies aren’t exactly challenging.  The cherries are a nice substitute for plain raisins, and it gives it an extra little punch to the cookies.  I find that the cookies are pretty rich, which works out since the recipe only makes about 30 decent-sized cookies.  That amount won’t last long in my house, so something needs to slow people down.  And like most oatmeal cookies, they don’t puddle out as they cook.  How you drop them is how they look when they’re done, so I formed mine more than I normally do.

Here’s the recipe for anyone who’s interested:

1/2 cup softened butter

2/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

1 egg and 1 egg yolk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 3/4 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 bag of dried cherries, chopped

1/3 bag of chocolate chips

Beat the butter until soft.  Gradually add sugar and mix until well combined.  Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla while mixing on low speed.  Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a separate bowl.  Gradually add dry ingredients while mixing on low speed.  Be careful not to over mix.  Stir in oats, cherry bits, and chocolate chips.  Bake for 9-11 minutes at 375 on a ungreased cookie sheet.

Like I said, not an interesting start to the recipe self-challenge.  They are super yummy cookies though, and it’s always good to start off with a success in your back pocket.

Leave a Reply

