It’s Going To Be That Kind Of Deployment

I have heard of this elusive Murphy’s Law of deployment.  I may have even giggled a few times at other people’s misfortune when they speak it’s awful name.  Today I realized that some things you just don’t get until it’s your turn.  Yes, it feels like some things wait to go wrong until your husband is half a world away.  When it wasn’t me, I rationalized it away.  Of course over the span of a year, stuff goes wrong.  It just feels a little worse when you don’t have a teammate helping out to fix the problem.

I was wrong.  I am sincerely sorry.  I will never doubt Murphy ever again.

My husband has been deployed for three days.  Our one and only car is dead.  The tow truck from the post auto shop is broken and they don’t know when it will be fixed.  I hate you, Deployment Murphy.

I hadn’t had my break down yet.  I hadn’t sat and blubbered like a baby that I was all alone.  I’d come close, but I hadn’t officially broken that seal and cried my eyes out.  Murphy gave me just the little push I needed.  I cried and cried.  DH called right in the middle of everything, and I got to yell and scream.  I feel amazingly better now.  Don’t get me wrong, I still want to punch Murphy in the face, but now I can get on with being the strong, independent mil spouse that I was born to be.

Even though I’m going to take care of it this time, Murphy, DO NOT come back any time soon.  I will put on my big girl panties and kick your ass.

Leave a Reply

