Status: T Minus…Go Time!!

It’s down to the holy-cow-I’m-about-to-lose-it time. DH will be here any time, and the driving, unpacking, and ACTUALLY MOVING will commence. I am about to lose it, but not all in a bad way. There’s a lot to do, and I’m more afraid I’m going to forget something that has to get done once we’re there. I’m also just super, super excited that I’m going to get DH back, even if it’s for a short time. Squeezing, cuddling, smooching, and giggling will all occur. (You have been warned.) I’m thrilled that I’m going to get a house that’s all my own. I can’t wait to get to know my new city and learn the layout of the commissary and finally get back into the workforce. I’ve done it. A whole year of being displaced and waiting is finally over.

That being said, I have to get my bum in gear. No packing has occurred. None. I haven’t even washed my clothes. I have collected all the important paperwork and made an important stuff folder. Any PCSing spouse will tell you that the important stuff folder is their ticket anywhere. Lose it and you might as well give up. Nothing will keep me from getting a house in a few days. This folder will be glued to me at all times.

Thrown into the mix is this Super Rad’s deployment is ending, and he’ll be back stateside in the next few weeks. I made my hotel reservations for a chunk of time since I don’t know the exact day he’ll be here. Hopefully DH and I’ll be able to make it. We have no idea how this PCS is going to go, so it all depends on what we find when we get there.

I’m so incredibly happy that my brother will be home finally. It’s been a bit difficult too because DH is probably deploying shortly. That gripping fear is ending for my parents, but for me it’s really not. It makes me feel so alone in this process. A spouse is different than a sibling or a child. My mom has been trying to prep me for being down there, like her mentioning the aloneness now is going to help me from losing ground and returning to that weirdo who never leaves their home. Honestly, I can’t stand her trying to help. She didn’t even know about all the bad stuff when it was going on, and now she’s talking like she has expert knowledge on what happened. Ugh. I’d rather be alone than be surrounded by people who in trying to be nice actually make it worse.

I went to look at curtains tonight! I know I don’t even have windows yet, but I am so freaking excited to be getting a house!! Target has a really nice selection. I was thinking green and maybe brown for the living room, but they have gorgeous plum curtains. I could be persuaded. I have zero purple things, but I have a odd mixture of dorm furniture for a one room apartment so my things aren’t finding a good place in my daydreams of a beautifully decorated new home.

Which brings me to my next worry—moolah. I don’t know how we’re going to afford all the stuff that we have to get. DH thinks we need a new car. My curtains are going to get place way, way on the back burner. I’ve made tentative plans to have my family down to my new house for Christmas this year, and I want so badly for my house to look like it’s somewhat put together. I know they don’t care, but I do. First things first I guess.

I’ve been applying for a few jobs too. Some I’d love to get and others that I could tolerate because the salary is decent. No bites yet, but I’m not discouraged. I’ve got lots to do, and not having to worry about starting work the first week I’m there is making it a tad easier. Not helping with money worries, but oh well. I’ll get there eventually. I think some people are turned off because my address is not a local one. I don’t blame them for not wanting to hire someone so far away, especially for just a normal job. Once I get a local address hopefully my resumes won’t look so scary.

Did I mention we’re thinking about driving back to DH’s parents’ house for Thanksgiving? Yeah, let’s just squeeze that into the mix! But I’ve got stuff in their garage that I want, so I’m not complaining. ALL my stuff may potentially be under one roof, MINE, within the month. Don’t want to jinx it quite yet, but oh my gosh I could cry.

Sigh, this is going to be one heck of a roller coaster, but I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

