Close Enough To Taste It

Hear that?  It’s the sound of exuberant relief.  I turned in the first draft of my thesis this afternoon.  Sigh…  I am so close to being finished.

I was so excited to turn it in today that I forgot to attach my bibliography.  Oops…hehe.  I called everyone I knew.  No one was available to talk.  Clearly they do not have the same priorities as I do, geeze.  To be perfectly honest, when I’m getting close to a deadline and really engrossed in a paper, hygiene suffers.  I get the basics.  My teeth are always clean.  My clothes and hair–not so much.  It’s nasty.  I’m not proud.  Think of it as part of the creative process.  I took the longest shower I could today to celebrate.  Double sigh…  No wonder people were avoiding me.

I’m really proud of the paper I turned in today.  It’s certainly not the final.  My footnotes and bibliography are still rough, and I know my advisor will have comments and areas for me to smooth out.  The main effort is done though.  My mom is a profession editor, and I’m so lucky because she wants to poor over every comma and pronoun usage.  I’ll repay her with dazzling facts about the Post Office’s reliance on the military during the building of the West.  See, you’re mouth is watering right now in anticipation of more.

It’s alright.  I won’t be offended if you’re actually looking for an exit.  I know that there only a few people nerdy enough to be intrigued by that statement.  It’s a lonely life.  Hehe.

My brother asked me a few months ago about my topic.  We chatted.  He attempted to convince how dull it was.  I told him I’d give him a copy of the final version for Christmas since he seemed so intrigued.  He told me he would give me a gift equally as valuable if I tried it.  Somehow I don’t think he was envisioning priceless gems or solid gold toothpicks like I was.

I’m going to give it a day or two and then dive back in.  I need to start polishing the footnotes and finalizing my bibliography.  I kind of like that part, so I not quite looking forward to it but I’m not dreading it either.  In a few days, maybe by next Monday, my advisor will have comments.  The first hurdle is past though.

Leave a Reply

