Temporary Domestic Bliss

I’m here with DH.  He’s in TLF (temporary housing, like a hotel), so it’s more than a little cramped.  It’s a cute little room though.  It has a super mini stove/fridge/sink area, so I’ve been playing domestic goddess.  I went to the commissary and got food, and I even got up this morning and made him breakfast.  Right now I’m in between cycles on his laundry, and you can finally (I’m pretty sure for the first time ever) see his floor because I picked up all the extraneous gear that was lying around.  Sigh…I’m so happy.

Jenny Spouse has this comic, and I can’t figure out when it was published to link directly to it, but it depicts the first couple weeks after the spouse comes home from deployment.  The wife is all primped out with make-up and high heels.  She’s cooking and cleaning and spoiling her DH to death.  A few weeks later, she’s a little dressed down but still cute.  A few weeks after that she’s in sweats and yelling at her DH to get whatever he needs himself.  It’s so cute and so true!  I love the fact that we’re finally together, so I love running around being Susie Homemaker.  I’m treating this cramped hotel room like it’s a mansion with 10 acres.  I wonder how long it would take for that to get old?

We were lying in bed last night before going to sleep and were joking that on our fifth anniversary we’d look back on that “one year we lived together” and how nice it was.  I’m afraid it’s going to come true.  November when DH finally gets finished with training will be one year since we left our little apartment.  One year without an address of our own.  One year of living out of duffel bags, suitcases, and our car.

I’m going to enjoy every minute of this week, and if I have to squint and tilt my head a little bit to pretend that this room is really our dream home, I will.  Note to self:  In my future dream home, don’t have the air conditioning permanently set so low either, because I’m freezing!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 17:57:43

    Wow, I can’t imagine how hard it would be to live on the road like that. I totally know what you mean about how fun it can be to play domestic goddess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

