Beaming…Because I Am the Shiz-Niz

It’s super late, but I have to toot my own horn a bit before I crash.  I just got back from a whirlwind trip back up to DH and my’s original home back before this moving and training craziness started to MOVE OUT!  Yes, yes, it is exciting.  Way back in November when we got the two week notice to quit work, pack, and drive several thousand miles because DH’s orders got moved way up, we had not time to do anything.  We put all out stuff in the local storage facility in town.  It happens to be a video rental, dollar store, mobile home supplies, and self storage (very, very tiny town), but it was within a block or two of our apartment, so it was gold at the time.  Since then, we got in contact with the personal property office and got movers scheduled.

Yesterday was the day.  I spent the whole day Sunday taking the train up there.  Monday I showed up bright and early to meet my movers and packers.  There is nothing as sweet as finally getting this ball rolling!  The storage place had a problem with their sprinkler system/fire alarm in the middle of the night before, so repair guys were there sharing our space.  Plus it was also partly storage for the dollar store, so we had very little room to stack boxes.  On top of it, there was nowhere for the moving truck to pull up to the building after he finally got unlost because there’s no parking lot.  People just park on the side of the road.  My packing guys, Lou and Jim (saints in my book), did an excellent job even still.  They teased me all day, but they were wonderful workers and got me safely packed in record time.  My stuff is right this minute headed to my next duty station.  Gasp!  Could it actually be?  It will sit in storage there too, but at least it will be there waiting for me when I get there.  Sigh…I couldn’t be happier.  Hehe!

The even bigger news is that I just completed my very first solo PSC.  Yay!!  I handled everything, and I did it semi-confidently and even was pretty social.  I’m so awesome.  I had a slight panic attack during it, and I don’t know why because by that point we were wrapping up.  Probably just relief that it was over.  One military spouse rite of passage down, and I did it long distance.  Yeah, Baby!

After that I stopped into my old work to say hi to my old co-workers and boss.  A lot of people were out on vacation or working on reduced summer hours, so that was a bummer.  I found out my old boss is getting married in September.  Congrats!!  I’m so excited for her.  I was really good there too and chatted with everyone.  I was happy and confident; I’m so proud of myself!  I flew back today and am very, very happy to be back.  I’m exhausted.  It was such a busy couple days.  Traveling wears me out, and I couldn’t eat very well while I was out, so my tummy is not happy with me.  Man, that bed is going to feel so good tonight.

As this process is coming to a close, I realize that maybe it’s good that I’m going to be doing the next bajillion months on my own.  I don’t know if I could grow and gain the self-agency that I need to with DH around.  It’s just not possible.  I rely too much on him when we’re together, but I love our time together.  It’s too complicated right now to be with him but learn to exert my own authority at the same time.  So I’m going to make sure I learn it by myself.  Some people have to do things the long, painful, slow way.  This is one of those times.  But if the last few days are any indication, I’m going to manage during the deployment.  I’m going to miss him like crazy, but I will be able to function.  No one could be more proud of me than I am right now.

Leave a Reply

