A PhD Obviously Doesn’t Guarentee Intelligence

Have I mentioned how much I really, really, really don’t like this professor?  Ugh, I could just scream.  I got my second paper back today.  I worked on this paper, man.  I really liked my argument.  I took my time and did a way better job on it than I did the first one for this class.  At least I didn’t write it in two days like has been my habit lately.  Anyway, she didn’t think I developed my argument at all.  She said it didn’t make sense and wasn’t supported well.  That’s just total crap, and I’m not just saying that.  It’s like she didn’t even read it.  At one point she refuted something I said.  It’s footnoted, lady!  Look it up.  I took that fact from the weekly reading assignments.  If she doesn’t believe it, don’t fault me.  Take it up with the historian who wrote it.  And the big thing she took off for was a thing I fixed according to her comments the time before.  She didn’t like how I led into quotes.  Although it’s correct according to the citation source the course provided me at the beginning, I did it her way.  Now she says I should have gone back and done it the way I had been doing it.  Aahh!  I want to pull my hair out.  I’ll write however she wants me to if only she knew what that was!  One of my biggest pet peeves is professors who can’t separate their personal preferences from what’s actually acceptable.  I don’t care if she doesn’t like full sentence quotes when she writes.  I’m still allowed to do it if I do it correctly.  And I did it once!  Just once!  Does that warrant the mini novel worth of comments she had to leave it about it?  I have no confidence in my final for this class now.  I don’t know how she even wants it, which I should have some clue by this point in the course.

This is not what I wanted to think about right before bed.  I’ve developed a cold I think, so that’s making me uncomfortable, and the internet connection at this “lovely” establishment is spotty.  Thank goodness it started working finally.  I couldn’t have waited until tomorrow to find out that little tidbit.

Leave a Reply

