Added Thoughts

I got to thinking about my post from yesterday, about feeling like “a book that can’t be read.”  I guess it sort of applies to being a military spouse in the civilian world right now too.  Nobody really gets what I’m going through, and civilian view points especially are shaped to a large extent by the media.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but in a small way, who cares?  The media can say what they want about the war or the troops, but it doesn’t even begin to describe the mountains of gear that military families have to deal with in their homes, the day to day frustrations with being apart from loved ones, and dealing with the turtle-slow bureaucracy associated with every aspect of military life.  Long distance relationships are tough, and many days I just don’t feel understood no matter how sympathetic someone seems.  Ideally, I’d like to have my personal book reader home all the time, but at least on post I can have other military people who can translate my book instead.  Right now I don’t have either.

Obviously I’m still feeling crummy today even though the weather is gorgeous and I’ve been bustling around all day.  Poo.

Leave a Reply

