Checking in

I know it’s been awhile, so I’m checking in.  I had a paper due  last week, so by the time my usual homework was finished and I typed my heart out on the paper, I was sick and tired to being tied to my keyboard.  The paper turned out well though.  My professor this semester is rather strict picky anal interesting, so I’m anxious to see what she thinks of it.  I usually do well, but I’m having a little rougher time trying to figure out what she wants than I have in the past.

I’m still hitting the gym regularly.  My mother had a tough training class for her job last week, so we couldn’t go to the gym on exactly our normal schedule, but she’s lost 9.5 pounds already!  I’m so proud of her.  She struts around here showing off her baggy pants and bump in her bicep that the benchpress is giving her.  Personally, I’ve been rather disappointed in my run time.  I usually try and run 2 miles, which isn’t anything to pout about, but I’m slow.  I am not a runner by any definition, but my mile time is still over 12 minutes.  I can’t seem to drop it at all even though I’m running several times a week.  Grr…

In happier news, DH called today to say that he’s getting a quick flight up here for Easter weekend.  Yay!  I had started making an Easter tree last week because I was bored.  That turned into me making a ham for Easter because I was kind of hungry for one, and no one else is going to do it unless I volunteer.  Now that DH will be here, I’ve really got to put out a spread.  Looks like we’re celebrating suddenly.  We usually skip Easter since we’re not very religious.  If I can figure out how to post pictures, I’ll post a picture of the Easter tree when it’s all done.  It’s starting to look really cute!

Last weekend my mom and I went to a craft fair that was in town.  I found the cutest little hat and mittens for a baby by 32 degrees.  It’s fleece with a little orange nose (personally it looks more like a beak to me) and eyes on the front.  It’s mostly white with rainbow along the ear flap area, and I got black mittens to go with it.  My best friend is having a baby this fall, and I couldn’t pass it up.  She doesn’t know what it’s going to be yet, so I figured the multi-colored one would be safe enough.  Again, I’ll try and post a picture of it if I can…or here’s the link.  I have tried to restrain myself from baby shopping because if I started, I wouldn’t be able to stop.  Let the floodgates open!!  I just found out yesterday that two, possibly three, of my six cousins are pregnant.  If I’d only known!  I could have have got fleece hat wild.  The penguin ones were adorable too.  I almost got a long stocking cap for me, but DH would have flew off the handle.  It’s not exactly needed in the hot climate we’re moving too.  But they were just so cute!

I wanted to say something quick about my attempts at a routine too.  It’s coming along….ever so slowly.  One day I’ll make it out of bed before 9:30.  Other days it’s my usual 11:00.  I’ve been tring to give my dog, Milo, playtime in the late afternoon everyday, so that’s been good.  The weather here has been so gloomy and wet recently, so even that’s been an uphill battle to find a good day to go out.  Between the gym schedule, increasing homework demands, and the dog, I’m inching closer.  I’ve been really productive the past few days with laundry, the Easter tree, and research for my big, end of course paper.  I’m in decent spirits for the most part, so I’m encouraged that if I can ever nail down a routine I’ll be in good shape.

Leave a comment